View by Month

ECD with Joanna Reiner Wilkinson and Reelplay (an Atlanta DistDance event)
Monday, Dec. 13, 2021,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:15 PM Eastern
Contact Dave Marcus (dmarcus123@gmail.com)

Join us for an all-ECD Atlanta DistDance!
When: Monday, December 13
Social time: 7:00-9:15 pm US Eastern time
Music for listening and dancing: 7:30-9:00ish
After-party social starts at 9:00
Caller: Joanna Reiner Wilkinson
Band: Reelplay
Link
Donations

Socialize, enjoy listening to good music, chatting with friends, and dance if it moves you. New! We encourage you to stay with us after the dance as we go around the circle and share the highlight of our week.

Our programs of English Country Dances (and a free waltz or two) are selected to be easy to do and satisfying with one or two people. Monday's program will be (subject to change):

Mulberry Garden
Apley House
Rafe's Waltz
Knives & Forks

The Round
Rebecka Ridinghoode
Bar a Bar
Old Wife Behind the Fire

Possible extras:
Trip to Tunbridge
Key to the Cellar 
Hop Ground

Our musicians, caller, and sound techs work for free - unless you show your appreciation by adding a bit of an optional donation.

Joanna Reiner Wilkinson has taught English dance for over two decades. In addition to being one of the leaders of the Philadelphia-based Germantown Country Dancers, her calling has taken her from Amherst to Ann Arbor, from NEFFA to Hey Days, from St. Croix to Vancouver, and other points abroad, including many sessions at Pinewoods Camp.

While known for her clear calling and instruction, Joanna loves teaching workshops for ECD callers, and workshops that explore ECD technique, new dances, and how people learn and remember dance choreography. In her spare time, Joanna uses her dance teaching skills to help demystify financial data for arts and culture nonprofits throughout the US.

Reelplay is an Atlanta dance band with both England and New England in their hearts featuring Dave Marcus, concertina, and Robbin L Marcus on piano (and a bit of percussion). In addition to ECD music, they enjoy an eclectic mix of tunes including New England, Quebecois, bal folk, ECD, and many originals. Playing in bands such as Over the Moon, 'Round Robbin, Renewable Energy and Holy Coyote, these musicians have lifted dancers’ feet and spirits for several decades.

Dancers say: "The live music that Reelplay offers is a real treat ... Such a pleasure to dance to! ... Your music is amazing. You definitely have a unique and danceable sound. ... Michael & All Angels was touching, yet had plenty of forward motion ... Just great!!"

Listen to Reelplay here.

Doors open at 7:00 Eastern for socializing. Be sure to clear out some dance space in your house, charge your device, and come on down (virtually, of course) to enjoy this dance and community event. Dancing starts at 7:30 with the last waltz at about 9:00, and the hall will remain open for visiting and farewells.

Please share with your friends near and far! Hope to see you there!

Atlanta DistDances are a community service from Kimbi Hagen, Robbin Marcus & Dave Marcus. Atlanta DistDance uses gender-free calling.

Time Zone Information

Monday, December 13, 2021, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Monday, December 13, 2021, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Monday, December 13, 2021, 6:00 PM Central time
Monday, December 13, 2021, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Tuesday, December 14, 2021, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top