View by Month

Martin & Eliza Carthy
Thursday, Dec. 16, 2021,  3:00 PM Eastern -  5:00 PM Eastern

Martin Carthy and his twice-Mercury-nominated daughter Eliza Carthy join forces to perform an eclectic range of songs and tunes from their vast family repertoire, drawing from the traditional canon as well as selections from a more contemporary songbook.

Martin Carthy is a legendary ballad singer and guitarist who has influenced generations of artists, including Bob Dylan – with whom he shared an 80th birthday celebration in May 2021 – and Paul Simon. Trailblazing musical partnerships with, amongst others, Steeleye Span, Dave Swarbrick and his award-winning wife (Norma Waterson) and daughter Eliza have resulted in more than 40 albums, as well as ten solo albums.

Eliza Carthy MBE, who marks her 30th year as a professional musician in 2022, is undoubtedly one of the most impressive and engaging performers of her generation. Twice nominated for the Mercury Prize and winner of multiple BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards and innumerable other accolades over her career to date, Eliza has performed and recorded with a diverse array of artists, including Paul Weller, Rufus and Martha Wainwright, Patrick Wolf and Bob Neuwirth. More than most, Eliza Carthy has revitalised folk music and captured the most hardened of dissenters with intelligent, charismatic and boundary-bending performances.

About the Gig

This event will be held live on Zoom, with a remote sound engineer for high-quality sound. Our gigs allow interaction between artists and audiences, so the artist can hear you applaud and you can even have the chance to ask them any burning questions.

Tickets are £15, with the option to pay a bit less (£10) or a bit more (£25) depending on your circumstances.

Time Zone Information

Thursday, December 16, 2021, 12:00 PM Pacific time
Thursday, December 16, 2021, 1:00 PM Mountain time
Thursday, December 16, 2021, 2:00 PM Central time
Thursday, December 16, 2021, 3:00 PM Eastern time
Thursday, December 16, 2021, 8:00 PM United Kingdom time

Location ONLINE
ONLINE
     
Back to Top