View by Month

Saturday Evening Waltz with the Rodney Miller Trio
Saturday, Dec. 18, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern - 11:00 PM Eastern
Contact craig@nbcds.org

Rodney Miller (fiddle) Daniel Steinberg (keyboards), and Paul Kotapish (mandolin and guitar) will be in concert at Monroe Hall in Santa Rosa with a live audience, Saturday December 18 at 7:00 p.m. Pacific. Attend the concert as part of Saturday Evening Waltz Party on-line or in-person with a contra dance to follow, with calling by Susan Petrick.

Designated a “Master Fiddler” in 1983 by the National Endowment for the Arts, Rodney Miller is widely considered to be the foremost exponent of New England style fiddling, a uniquely American blend of French Canadian and Celtic influences. In 2021 Rodney published his Collection of Original Fiddle Tunes, 270 original tunes written over his musical career which spans 14 albums and 50 years of concerts, festivals, and social dancing. It includes essays from Rodney about his musical life, as well as on tune-writing in traditional styles.

Over the past 40 years, Daniel Steinberg (keyboards) has developed an unique approach to playing traditional dance music, incorporating his diverse interests in world music. In addition to performances and recordings with the Hillbillies from Marsand the Rodney Miller Band, he has collected and taught French traditional dances, performed with Afro-pop and Latin American ensembles, and plays on Hori da, an album of Basque music, with the band Ospa.

Paul Kotapish (mandolin and guitar) has performed and recorded with Wake the Dead, Euphonia, Hillbillies from Mars, the Synaesthetics, the Quirks, Kevin Burke’s Open House, the Rodney Miller Band, and many others. His playing is rooted in the vintage rural music traditions of Appalachia, Ireland and beyond, but it also embraces pop idioms like rock and country. Over the decades he’s appeared on concert stages and in dance halls throughout the United States and around the globe—from remote fishing villages in Alaska to the Kremlin in Moscow.

All Monroe Hall attendees are required to be fully vaccinated and masked. Vaccination status will be checked at the door. Please bring your own water bottles. There will be no food served in the Hall. For the contra dance, Susan will be calling larks and robins.

Tip Jar

Monroe Hall admission: $20 or pay-as-you-can

Questions or more information, including the on-line link, contact Craig at craig@nbcds.org

Time Zone Information

Saturday, December 18, 2021, 7:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, December 18, 2021, 8:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, December 18, 2021, 9:00 PM Central time
Saturday, December 18, 2021, 10:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, December 19, 2021, 3:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Monroe Hall
1400 West College Ave.
Santa Rosa
CA
95401
USA
     
Back to Top