View by Month

TapRoot Sessions: Eloise & Co for Women in Roots series
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2022,  7:00 PM Eastern -  9:00 PM Eastern
Contact Beth Carlson, 413 429 1176

Tickets $20, Proof of Vaccination Required

Contact: taprootsessions@gmail.com, 413 429 1176

Seating is limited, masks and proof of vaccination required at the door.

TapRoot Sessions Women in Roots music series seeks to highlight the contribution of women to the traditional music scene, provide performance opportunities for women artists, and inspire future generations of girls and women to participate and lead in the folk community.

Eloise & Co. features the combined creative force of two of the country’s most sought-after acoustic traditional musicians, Becky Tracy and Rachel Bell. These two, sometimes playing as a duo and other times joined by one of several powerhouse backup players, including Owen Morrison, Bethany Waickman, Rachel Aucoin, and Andrew VanNorstrand, crank out dance and concert music with unbridled energy and soaring beauty.

Becky Tracy: fiddle, octave fiddle, vocals
Rachel Bell: accordion, piano, vocals.

Originally thrown together at a gig where Becky led the contra dance portion of the evening and Rachel led the French dance part of the evening, they have continued to fuse these two elements into their concerts and dances, as well as adding songs and original compositions to the mix. Their first recording, “More, Please” was released in July of 2018, and as its name suggests, they are already dreaming of the next recording.

“It would be difficult to overstate the sheer joy experiencing Eloise & Co. brings. It exhibits my favorite combination of exuberant, even virtuosic playing with loose precision—a favorite oxymoron—and earthy, vulnerable vocals. Having recorded a great deal of Celtic, acoustic, Americana, et. Al. Over the years, 'Eloise's' qualities make its performances instantly accessible.”

—Alfred Grunwell, recording engineer and sound technician

This Concert is supported by a grant from the Sandisfield Local Cultural Council.

Time Zone Information

Saturday, January 22, 2022, 4:00 PM Pacific time
Saturday, January 22, 2022, 5:00 PM Mountain time
Saturday, January 22, 2022, 6:00 PM Central time
Saturday, January 22, 2022, 7:00 PM Eastern time
Sunday, January 23, 2022, 12:00 AM United Kingdom time

Location Dewey Hall
91 Main Street
Sheffield
MA
01257
United States
     
Back to Top